A unique folk museum for all ages housed in a 450 year old half cruck cottage with an English cottage garden. Founded by local Master Shoemaker the late Jack Anderson in 1975 and now managed by volunteers.
The museum has many artefacts from Jack’s eclectic collection on show.
The entrance hall features a new timeline which depicts events in Marske’s history from the 11th Century to the present day and features many references including the burial of Captain James Cook’s father in 1779; a visit to the town by author, Charles Dickens in 1844; the First World War aerodrome which counted W.E. Johns, the author of the famous ‘Biggles’ books as one of its instructors and Malcolm Campbell’s land speed record on Marske Beach in 1922.
*Due to the age of the building there is limited disability access.
162 High Street Marske-by-the-Sea TS11 7NB